1 disponibles

SKU: 8436559465397 Categorías: , Etiqueta:


Limited edition release. Louis’ studio environment was greatly welcomed by the Jazz world. The producer replaced Satchmo’s All Stars with the Oscar Peterson Trio plus Louie Bellson on drums on a number of sessions; set up the vocal partnership of Louis with Ella Fitzgerald on others, and even produced a whole “conceptual album” with selections from Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess, arranged and conducted by Russell Garcia. All five projects are deservedly recognized among Louis’ best records ever. Greater emphasis was placed on Satchmo’s vocals than on his trumpet playing on his albums with Granz (one of the very few points of detraction among contemporary critics). However, everyone would agree that Louis was a superb and unique singer, and that his vocal interpretations are in many cases almost “instrumental”. Of equal importance is the fact that, although most of the songs chosen were already well known standards by 1957, Louis had never previously recorded the majority of them (and he would never record them again). Therefore all of these versions can be considered one-of-a-kind gems.


1 That Old Feeling (Lew Brown-Sammy Fain) 2:44

2 Let’s Fall in Love (Harold Arlen-Ted Koehler) 3:16

3 I’ll Never Be the Same (Malneck-Signorelli-Kahn) 3:31

4 Blues in the Night (Harold Arlen-Johnny Mercer) 5:13

5 How Long Has This Been Going on (George & Ira Gershwin) 5:58

6 What’s New (Bob Haggart-Johnny Burke) 2:42

7 Moon Song (Arthur Johnston-Sam Coslow) 4:34

8 Just One of Those Things (Cole Porter) 4:05

9 There’s No You (Hal Hopper-Tom Adair) 2:17

10 You Go to My Head (J. Fred Coots-Haven Gillespie) 6:27

11 Sweet Lorraine (Cliff Burwell-Mitchell Parish) 5:14