SKU: 673203115217 Categorías: , Etiqueta:


Double vinyl LP pressing. 2020 release. Christian McBride solidifies his role as the champion of the past, present and future of jazz with his GRAMMY® Award-winning Big Band’s new album in tribute to Jimmy Smith, Wes Montgomery and Oliver Nelson. Featuring special guests Joey DeFrancesco and Mark Whitfield, «For Jimmy, Wes and Oliver» honors the historical legacy of the jazz legends who shaped the soul of music for generations to come.

180gr. Black Vinyl In Gatefold Jacket
2-LP Holland

In September 1966, organist Jimmy Smith and guitarist Wes Montgomery got together at Rudy Van Gelder’s famed studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey. Over the course of three days, the two jazz icons recorded the material for two now-classic albums: The Dynamic Duo (1966) and Further Adventures of Jimmy and Wes (1968), backed by a big band featuring arrangements by the great Oliver Nelson.

That pair of electrifying outings would prove seminal for another dynamic duo over the ensuing decades: bass great Christian McBride and master organist Joey DeFrancesco would wear out the grooves on their copies of the Smith/Montgomery summit meetings during their high school days, and both would remain touchstones throughout a friendship and collaboration that has lasted nearly 40 years.

For Jimmy, Wes and Oliver echoes the format of the original Smith/ Montgomery summit meetings, with a balance of big band and quartet tracks. To complete the core band, McBride called on another longtime friend and collaborator, Mark Whitfield, to play the Montgomery role, while regular CMBB drummer Quincy Phillips anchors the ensemble.

  • – 1 –
    • 1. Night Train (05:21)
    • 2. Road Song (06:39)
    • 3. Up Jumped Spring (08:12)
    • 4. Milestones (03:47)
    • 5. The Very Thought of You (08:33)
  • – 2 –
    • 1. Down By the Riverside (08:20)
    • 2. I Want To Talk About You (07:18)
    • 3. Don is (06:32)
    • 4. Medgar Evers’ Blues (07:13)
    • 5. Pie Blues (09:53)