SKU: 8719262016224 Categorías: , Etiqueta:


180gr./1963 Album/1000 Copies On Purple Marbled Vinyl
1-LP Holland
Dance / Soul
Coloured Vinyl, High Quality, Remastered

Sam Cooke, inventor and true King of Soul, recorded Mr. Soul in the same year as Night Beat, and seems to be its more adult counterpart, with soulful ballads taking up most of the album. A laidback tempo and rich arrangements lay the foundation over which Sam’s somewhat melancholy voice floats, creating an uplifting spirit that can mend anyone’s broken heart. With standards such as «Willow Weep For Me», «I Wish You Love», and «For Sentimental Reasons», Cooke shows a quiet emotive side of himself without losing his keen sense of melody, using the strength of his voice without overpowering the listener. Had Sam Cooke lived longer, we might have had more music of this rare quality. As it stands, we must make do with the treasures he left behind.

Available as a limited Edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on purple marbled vinyl.

  • 1. I Wish You Love
  • 2. Willow Weep For Me
  • 3. Chains of Love
  • 4. Smoke Rings
  • 5. All the Way
  • 6. Send Me Some Lovin’
  • 7. Cry Me a River
  • 8. Driftin’ Blues
  • 9. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
  • 10. Nothing Can Change This Love
  • 11. Little Girl
  • 12. These Foolish Things