SKU: 8718469534111 Categorías: , Etiqueta:


Hiatus Kaiyote is the sound of serendipity. Every so often a band comes along that captures the collective imagination, a band that has all the essential elements in place to become a musical movement.

The music of Hiatus Kaiyote strikes the perfect note merging poetry and polyrhythms. Hiatus Kaiyote has a style that can’t be easily pinpointed. Stevie Wonder, Otis Redding, Tupac Shakur, Flying Lotus, traditional flamenco and music from Mali and Colombia have influenced the group. We could call it ‘Future Soul’.

On the band’s debut album Tawk Tomahawk (2012) it’s as if the vast desert landscape has opened up, borrowing ingredients from far-reaching lands to concoct a distinctive flavor that is the essence of all its parts. Each song whispers of delicious, ancient stories untold.

Stereogum singled out Hiatus Kaiyote as a «Band to Watch.» Gilles Peterson named them the Breakthrough Artist of 2013. «Questlove and Erykah Badu have gone out of their way to promote the band. There’s been so much support from the community of musicians locally and internationally. As a musician that’s what it’s about», as lead singer Nai Palm put it. Q-Tip lends his voice for a collaborative verse on «Nakamarra».

-180 gram audiophile vinyl

Side A
1. Mobius Streak
2. The World It Softly Lulls
3. Leap Frog
4. Malika
5. Ocelot
6. Boom Child
Side B
1. Lace Skull
2. Rainbow Rhodes
3. Sphinx Gate
4. Nakamarra