SKU: 0602557462975 Categorías: , Etiqueta:


Collected by Charles Aznavour is a wonderful collection of hits and classics by the French chansonnier, that touches your soul at every moment. It’s an overview of his work during the sixties, seventies and duets with Johnny Hallyday on «Il Faut Savoir» and with Frank Sinatra «Young At Heart». Also his English versions of «How Sad Venice Can Be», «The Old Fashioned Way», «She» and four more English songs are included on this deluxe Trifold 3LP album.

In the early 1950s a man of short stature attempts to win over his audience. With a hoarse voice he delivers songs that do not catch on. People jeer at him. Tomatoes fly through the air. The Frenchman with Armenian roots slinks off the stage, but does not quit. Ironically, the song that makes him a household name is the song in which he recalls his agonising trial. The audience reacted indifferently when Charles Aznavour decided to try out his new song on stage. But when he went on to greet the audience for one final time they all stood and gave him a thundering standing ovation. In the sixties, hits and classics succeed one another. Nobody is bothered any more by his husky voice, by his small stature or his rugged characterful face. The croony «For Me Formidable» (1963), the heart breaking «Et Pourtant» (1963) and the nostalgic «Hier Encore» (1964) confirm his standing as a fan favourite. «La Bohème» (1965) and «Emmenez-moi» (1967) turn Aznavour into a superstar. In «La Bohème», there are impressionist painters strolling in the shadows of the Sacré-Coeur, the compelling «Comme Ils Dissent» (1972) is the first chanson after Vichy France to overtly endorse homo sexuality and in the present «France Of La Manif Pour Tous» (the movement that opposes gay marriage), does it again to sound particularly topical. «Camarade» (1977) was about the nomenklatura, the ruling elite in the Soviet Union and is a social and historical topic. «Avec Un Brin de Nostalgie» is an Aznavour grand cru, maybe even the best he has made over the last thirty years. Charles Aznavour Collected is available as a limited pressing of 1000 individually numbered copies on gold vinyl. The package includes a 4-page booklet with liner notes and photos.

  • Disc 1 –
  • 1 Jezebel
  • 2 Parce Que
  • 3 Les Deux Guitares
  • 4 Je M’voyais DÉJÀ
  • 5 If Faut Savoir
  • 6 Les Comédiens
  • 7 La Mamma
  • 8 Sa Jeunesse Entre Ses Mains
  • 9 Et Pourtant
  • 10 For Me Formidable
  • 11 Sur Ma Vie
  • 12 A Ma Fille
  • 13 Que C’est Triste Venise
  • 14 Une Enfant
  • 15 Hier Encore
  • 16 Au Printemps Tu Reviendras
  • 17 La Bohème
  • 18 Paris Au Mois D’août
  • – Disc 2 –
  • 1 Tout S’en Va
  • 2 Emmenez-Moi
  • 3 Le Cabotin
  • 4 Non Je N’ai Rien Oublié
  • 5 Mourir D’aimer
  • 6 Les Plaisirs Démodés
  • 7 Comme Ils Disent
  • 8 A Ma Femme
  • 9 Tous Les Visages de L’amour
  • 10 Mes Emmerdes
  • 11 J’ai Vu Paris
  • 12 Toi Et Moi
  • 13 Je T’aime Aime
  • – Disc 3 –
  • 1 Avec Un Brin de Nostalgie
  • 2 Tomorrow Is My Turn
  • 3 How Sad Venice Can Be
  • 4 The Old Fashioned
  • 5 The «I Love You» Song
  • 6 She
  • 7 Yesterday When I Was I Young
  • 8 I’ll Be There
  • 9 La Légende de Stenka Razine (With Les Compagnons de la Chanson)
  • 10 Je Voyage (With Katia Aznavour)
  • 11 Il Faut Savoir (With Johnny Hallyday)
  • 12 Young at Heart (With Frank Sinatra)
  • 13 J’aime Paris Au Mois de Mai (With Zaz)
  • 14 Ave Maria