SKU: 8712177064656 Categorías: , Etiqueta:


The Platters All Their Hits on 180g Import 2LP

40 Original Recordings!

The multi-platinum Platters were comprised of founder and naming member Herb Reed, Tony Williams, Paul Robi, Zola Taylor and David Lynch. In 1955, the quintet crashed through the racial divide that existed between black and white artists during America’s infamous civil rights era. Their debut hit single «Only You (and You Alone)» which launched The Platters as superstars on the world stage was actually an error. A popular DJ named Alan Freed accidentally played their Mercury Records debut single on-air during a «prime» time that was traditionally reserved for «white artists.» The ballad, based on the then groundbreaking Tin Pan Alley sound, became an instant hit with the public and would eventually reach number five on the Pop charts.

Soon after, The Platters released «The Great Pretender,» which propelled them to the number one spot on the charts, providing the launch pad for their meteoric rise. As a result they became the first African-American group to achieve international superstardom. Both songs have since been declared songs of the 21st century by the Grammy foundation. With several chart-topping hits and more than 400 recordings, as a foundation, The Platters continue their evolution in the music industry to this day with vocalists Wayne Miller, Valerie Victoria, Frank Pizarro, Cheo Bourne and Music Director Michael Larson.

Vinyl Passion’s All Their Hits delivers an astonishing 40-tracks across 2LPs including the aforementioned «Only You (And You Alone)» and «The Great Pretender» plus further definitive fare like «I’m Sorry,» «Smoke Gets In Your Eyes,» «My Prayer,» «Twilight Time,» «Harbor Lights,» «To Each His Own» and «If I Didn’t Care.»


1. Only You (And You Alone)
2. The Great Pretender
3. I’m Just A Dancing Partner
4. (You’ve Got) The Magic Touch
5. Winner Take All
6. My Prayer
7. Heaven On Earth
8. You’ll Never Never Know
9. It Isn’t Right
10. On My Word Of Honor
11. One In A Million
12. I’m Sorry
13. He’s Mine
14. My Dream
15. I Wanna
16. Only Because
17. Helpless
18. Twilight Time
19. You’re Making A Mistake
20. I Wish

1. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
2. It’s Raining Outside
3. Enchanted
4. Remember When
5. Where
6. Wish It Were Me
7. Harbor Lights
8. Sleepy Lagoon
9. Ebb Tide
10. Red Sails In The Sunset
11. To Each His Own
12. If I Didn’t Care
13. Trees
14. I’ll Never Smile Again
15. It’s Magic
16. I Love You 1000 Times
17. I’ll Be Home
18. With This Ring
19. Washed Ashore (On A Lonely Island In The Sea)
20. Sweet, Sweet Lovin’