SKU: AFSA266 Categorías: , , Etiquetas: ,


Best of Scorpions is a compilation album that contains the best tracks of the band’s 1970s material. A sound collection of songs from their albums between Fly To The Rainbow and Taken by Force.

What you hear on Best of Scorpions is a band polishing their sound. The songs are rawer and heavier overall with a large emphasis on Uli John Roth’s Hendrix-like lead work. Roth’s «Hell Cat» sounds like one of the heavier tunes off of Electric Ladyland. Klaus Meine’s lead vocals were very powerful and Rudolf Schenker’s gift of writing memorable melodic riffs show their fruition here. Roth left the Scorpions in 1979 which is where this compilation ends.

Every track is very solid… «Pictured Life,» «Backstage Queen» and «Steamrock Fever» are excellent arena anthems. «Virgin Killer» and «Dark Lady» are furious rockers featuring menacing riffs and Roth’s wild lead work. «Robot Man» and «Speedy’s Coming» have great riffs. There’s the humorous «He’s A Woman, She’s A Man» and «In Trance» is an excellent power ballad and one of the band’s defining tracks. Finally, the brilliant «The Sails of Charon» which is widely considered one of the great early epics of heavy metal history.

This Audio Fidelity edition features the original LP cover art. The image of a scorpion stinging a naked girl’s hip has not been available in the US since the 1979 vinyl jacket was changed in 1984. 

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Super Audio CD
• Mastered for this SACD by Steve Hoffman at Marsh Mastering
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a ‘Red Book’ Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

1. Steamrock Fever
2. Pictured Life
3. Robot Man
4. Backstage Queen
5. Speedy’s Coming (Live)
6. Hell Cat
7. He’s A Woman – She’s A Man
8. In Trance
9. Dark Lady
10. The Sails Of Charon
11. Virgin Killer